Day 13 – Redruth to Land’s End

My last 30 miles were a joy to ride. Again the sun was out, as was a big smile on my face.

The ride seemed to go too quick. Although I was keen to get to Land’s End, I didn’t really want it to be all over so soon.

I was welcomed to Penzance by a big sign.

image

This reminded me of the one by the Dromochter Pass in Scotland, saying ‘Cycle path to Pitlochry’ all those days ago when it was cold, wet and windy. Today the weather couldn’t have been more different, it was beautiful.

I passed a couple of end to enders going the other way, who were setting off on their trip. They gave me a cheery wave, which made me think about all I had been through to get here over the past couple of weeks and I started to feel quite emotional, which I was not expecting. This carried on and off over the last few miles.

image

I had made it. I had done it. I was an official end to ender.

image

Now all that’s left is to get home. But this is not how I imagined getting back.

image

Yep, the motorhome broke down 5 miles after leaving Land’s End. You couldn’t make it up. The celebrations will need to wait one more day.

8 thoughts on “Day 13 – Redruth to Land’s End

  1. Chris and Maureen

    Well done Ross. Never doubted you would do it. Now put your feet up —- you wish.

    Reply
  2. Kim

    Well done mate. You’ve really done it then. A full member of the official end2enders club!
    Congratulations . from Sally and me.
    Motor transport – not your department ol’boy sit back sink a few bevvies and let someone else sort it out. You’ve done your bit and earned a rest.

    Reply
  3. Nic Sanger

    Fantastic, well done to you, what an achievement. Loved the blog!, the trip home after lands end did make me chuckle! Enjoy your birthday celebrations x

    Reply
  4. sam

    Congratulations what an achievement! Very well done. Enjoy your Birthday and have a few well deserved beers;-). Sam & Scott x x

    Reply
  5. Lloyd Sanger

    Very many congratulations son , i was so pleased and emotionally wrecked on your achievement , knew you could do it. We did have a few larfs on the way !!! Dad xxx

    Reply

Leave a comment