Day 10 – Gloucester to Highbridge

Today was a bit of a struggle. I started off well enough, but the middle 40 miles was really hard going. The A38 was in poor shape, I had a headwind to fight against and it was hilly. The worse bit was getting through a very busy Bristol. It seemed to take forever.

The scenery was also pretty dull, which matched the weather – it was cold with grey cloudy sky above.

I was really glad to finish. It took me 6 hrs 50 mins to ride 72 miles. Yesterday it took me 6 hrs 30 mins to ride 92 miles. That gives an indication of how difficult the conditions were today.

image

The day’s highlight was dinner at a pub near the campsite. I had steak and ale pie and 2 pints of ‘Old Speckled Hen.’ Very, very good.

1 thought on “Day 10 – Gloucester to Highbridge

Leave a comment