Day 11 – Highbridge to Sourton

After decent food, decent beer and a decent sleep, I woke up feeling so much better after yesterday’s exertions. Today the sky was blue, the headwind had gone and the A38 was in much better shape.

Apart from my troublesome right achilles tendon (which has been sore for the past few days and is getting slowly more bruised and swollen) I felt great, and I made quick progress through Somerset and into Devon.

I stopped to eat my packed lunch on a bench in the grandly named village ‘Sampford Peverell’ and I soaked up the sun’s rays.

1367238149393

A little further on I passed by a lovely looking pub called ‘The Trout Inn’ which stood by the rive Exe in Bickleigh – but I didn’t stop.

There are definitely less flat bits to enjoy and more hills to get up and over in Devon. This tells me that I am getting closer to Cornwall, which is precisely where I will be tomorrow.

Hills = more energy needed to get up them, which is why I had this for dinner.

1367264163325

4 thoughts on “Day 11 – Highbridge to Sourton

  1. Sally

    Hi Ross, fabulous ride, can’t believe you are going to be in Cornwall tomorrow. Keep a look out for the flat bits!

    Reply
    1. Diane Wheeler

      Hi Ross,

      You’re doing great!! Say hello to Cornwall for me, especially Redruth where I was born on 30 April.

      Keep up the good work.
      Diane

      Reply

Leave a comment