Day 9 – Wem to Gloucester

I really enjoyed this morning’s ride. The roads were really good and all through Shrewsbury I followed decent cycle paths along the A49.

In fact everything was going well up to the really nice village of Church Stretton – and then my Garmin stopped working for some reason, so I had to use my paper map. Needless to say I missed a couple of turns, which added a few miles to the day’s total (92 miles today), but I didn’t mind as the weather was good and the roads were fast.

I passed by a Cadbury’s factory at Hope under Dinmore and the whole area smelt of chocolate brownies, which made me long for one or two.

image

A little further on from there I passed Hampton Court castle, which looked mighty impressive.

image

I cycled in 3 counties today. I started in Shropshire, then went through Hertfordshire and now I am in Gloucestershire. Tomorrow I will reach Somerset. If I am able I will try to check out Burnham-on-Sea, which I have heard is a nice place to visit.

This was hanging on the wall in the campsite’s washroom.

image

It reminded me to try and see if I can find a Somerset cider tomorrow.

Leave a comment