Day 12 – Sourton to Redruth

Today’s route avoided the busy A30 as much as possible. I cycled down some lovely, quiet country roads. There were plenty of ups and very fast downs, but nothing that my hardened legs couldn’t handle.

I have made it to Cornwall.

image

I think that today’s ride was one of the best I have ever had. The roads were good, the scenery was fantastic, and the weather was superb. My overall mood was great, in part due to my achilles hurting less (I raised my seat a little higher, which did the trick), but mostly because this was my last full day in the saddle, as I only have 30 miles left to cover until I reach Land’s End tomorrow.

I am staying in a campsite in a place called Wheal Peevor. Back in the day this area used to produce a lot of tin. Some old mines still remain, although the days of tin mining are well and truly over. This is what the mines look like.

image

As I write this, it seems a bit strange that my adventure is drawing to a close after nearly a fortnight trying to get from the north-east to the south-west on 2 wheels. Just one last effort to go…

1 thought on “Day 12 – Sourton to Redruth

  1. mocowle

    Well done matey, you must very big muscles on your legs !! You have been very lucky with the weather – hope it lasts Chris and I are down in Cornwall next week (Redruth)

    Well done, your girls must be very proud of you – we all are luv ‘nanny mo’ xxxx

    Reply

Leave a comment